Biological materials

Organic cotton

When we talk about organic materials, we are talking about materials that are designed with respect for the environment. For example, all pieces in Girl Crush's Modern War Attire collection are made from organic cotton.

According to the source Textile Exchange, through its agricultural process, organic cotton consumes 11 times less water than conventional cotton. In addition, no pesticides are used to cultivate it, which makes this material non-toxic, non-carcinogenic and non-polluting. By wearing clothes made of organic cotton, you are giving a gift to the environment but also to your health. Moreover, organic farming is based on a sustainable approach. Thus, the system is not dependent on non-renewable resources, such as synthetic fertilizers and pesticides. Organic cotton, however, costs 30% more than conventional cotton, as the processes involved require more labor and therefore time.

Recycled materials

Development of recycled fabrics

At Girl Crush, our goal is to constantly innovate and improve by gradually expanding our range of products made from 100% recycled materials. So far, this range includes the following items: our t-shirts, our tote bags, our stockings, our Vintage Rework as well as our “Recycled Fleece” collection. The development of such products is much longer and more complex since it is a brand new technology that is constantly evolving. We create our own fabrics which are made entirely from recycled materials. Here are the steps briefly:

step no.1

Cleaning

First, the plastic bottles are collected and washed

step no.2

shredding

These recycled plastic bottles are then shredded into flakes by a machine

step no.3

FUSION

Plastic flakes are melted into small balls

step no.4

Spinning

Which, in their turn, are melted again to form filaments and the filaments are then transformed into threads

step no.5

knitting

Plastic yarns are used to knit the new environmentally sustainable fabric.

There you go! A new garment is made using this artificial fabric created from 10 to 12 plastic garbage bottles!

Matières biologiques

Coton biologique

Quand on parle de matières biologiques, on parle de matières qui sont conçues dans le respect de l’environnement. Par exemple, tous les morceaux de la collection Modern War Attire de Girl Crush sont faits à partir de coton biologique.

Selon le rapport de Textile Exchange, à travers son processus d'agriculture, le coton biologique consomme 11 fois moins d'eau que le coton conventionnel. De plus, aucun pesticide n'est utilisé afin de le cultiver, ce qui rend cette matière non toxique, non cancérigène et non polluante. En portant des vêtements faits de coton biologique, vous faites un cadeau à l’environnement mais aussi à votre santé. D’ailleurs, l’agriculture biologique est basée sur une approche durable. Ainsi, le système ne dépend pas de ressources non renouvelables, telles que les engrais synthétiques et les pesticides. Le coton biologique coûte cependant 30% plus cher que le coton conventionnel, car les processus impliqués exigent plus de travail et donc de temps.

Matières recyclées

Développement de tissus recyclés

Chez Girl Crush, notre objectif est de constamment innover et s'améliorer en élargissant graduellement notre gamme de produits 100% faits de matières recyclées. Jusqu'à présent, cette gamme comporte les items suivants: nos t-shirts, nos tote bags, nos bas, notre Vintage Rework ainsi que notre collection “Recycled Fleece”. Le développement de tels produits est beaucoup plus long et complexe puisqu'il s'agit d'une toute nouvelle technologie qui est en pleine évolution. Nous créons nos propres tissus qui sont entièrement faits de matières recyclées. Voici brièvement les étapes:

Ă©tape no.1

Nettoyage

Tout d’abord, les bouteilles de plastique sont recueillies et lavées

Ă©tape no.2

déchiquetage

Ensuite, ces bouteilles de plastique recyclées sont déchiquetées en flocons par une machine

Ă©tape no.3

FUSION

Les flocons de plastique sont fondus en petites billes

Ă©tape no.4

Filage

Qui, à leurs tours, sont fondues de nouveau pour former des filaments et les filaments sont alors transformés en fils

Ă©tape no.5

tricotage

Les fils de plastique sont utilisés pour tricoter le nouveau tissu écologiquement durable.

Voilà! Un nouveau vêtement est fabriqué à l’aide de ce tissu artificiel créé à partir de 10 à 12 bouteilles de plastique destinées aux ordures!