Our eco-responsible goals

Encourage minimal packaging by eliminating virgin plastic from our supply chain

Thus, we use bags made of biodegradable materials, minimize our excess packaging during shipping and create labels made from recycled materials on our clothes. For us, it would simply not be coherent to create products made from eco-responsible materials without the entire process reflecting these values.

FOR A MORE SUSTAINABLE FASHION

Because it is possible to wear trendy clothes while having a positive impact on society.

GIRL CRUSH PRESENTS

SUSTAINABLE PRACTICES AND SOCIAL CAUSES

At Girl Crush, we design fashionable clothing with a strong focus on our environmental footprint, from the beginning of the manufacturing process to the moment we receive the package.

Here are some of the eco-friendly goals we've set for ourselves:

GOAL #1: MINIMAL PACKAGING

To promote minimal packaging by eliminating virgin plastic from our supply chain. For example, we use bags made from biodegradable materials, minimize excess packaging during shipping and create labels made from recycled materials on our clothing. For us, it simply wouldn't make sense to create products made from eco-friendly materials without the entire process reflecting these values.

OBJECTIVE #2: ECOLOGICAL PRINTING METHOD

To use an ecological printing method such as dye sublimation to transfer our illustrations onto our fabrics. As seen on our tote bags or t-shirts made of 100% recycled materials, the illustrations created in Montreal have been thermally sublimated in order to be printed on our products. Sublimation is the most environmentally friendly and sustainable method of printing garments in the industry. Why is it so? Because it generates no waste and no water is used or contaminated in the process. This method is safe for both workers and the environment.

GOAL #3: SLOW GARMENT PRODUCTION

Contributing to the fast fashion industry means contributing to the billions of pounds of clothing that end up in landfills each year. These fabrics not only emit gases, but also contain chemicals that contaminate our soil. Girl Crush produces its collections based on demand: two to four collections per year as well as a few exclusive and occasional designs (whereas fast fashion companies produce between 12 and 36). For us, it is extremely important to focus on quality. That's why every garment and accessory is made with care and attention to detail. It goes without saying that the higher the quality of a product, the more it will be worn and the longer it will stay out of the landfill.

GOAL #4: FABRICS MADE FROM RECYCLED MATERIALS

Girl Crush is committed to using fabrics made from recycled and/or organic materials for its clothing. We are always on the lookout for the most advanced technologies and innovative ways to reduce our carbon footprint. Thus, creating fabrics with these properties was the right thing to do to save energy and reduce gas emissions. Read our textile section to learn about all the steps involved in creating, from collecting and washing plastic bottles to designing environmentally sustainable fabric.


1. ORGANIC MATERIALS

When we talk about organic materials, we mean materials that are designed with the environment in mind. For example, all of the pieces in Girl Crush's Summer Collection are made from organic cotton.

According to the Textile Exchange report, organic cotton uses 11 times less water than conventional cotton in its farming process. In addition, no pesticides are used to grow it, making it non-toxic, non-carcinogenic and non-polluting. By wearing clothes made from organic cotton, you are not only giving a gift to the environment but also to your health.

Moreover, organic farming is based on a sustainable approach. It does not depend on non-renewable resources such as synthetic fertilizers and pesticides.

However, organic cotton is 30% more expensive than conventional cotton, as the processes involved are more labour intensive and therefore also time consuming. This is why it took several months to create the matching sets, as we had to create fabrics with similar shades (for example, the cropped cami does not have the same fabric as the comfy shorts but has the same colour).


2. RECYCLED MATERIALS

At Girl Crush, our goal is to constantly innovate and improve by gradually expanding our range of products made from 100% recycled materials. So far, this line includes the following items:

- 100% recycled T-Shirts

- 100% recycled Tote Bags

- 100% recycled socks

- Vintage Reworked

- Our Recycled Fleece collection (coming soon)

The development of such products is much more time consuming and complex as it is a brand new technology that is still evolving. We create our own fabrics that are made entirely from recycled materials. First, recycled plastic bottles are shredded into plastic flakes and then melted into chips to ultimately be transformed into recycled polyester fiber. Then, depending on the product, other recycled materials can also be used to obtain the ideal material. In the case of our T-Shirts for example, old cotton T-shirts are shredded and transformed into recycled cotton fiber to finally create our current material, which is a mix of 50% recycled cotton and 50% recycled polyester.

In fact, some of our products are made from recycled clothing. This is our Vintage Rework section. These clothes, found in thrift stores or vintage shops, are given to our seamstresses and then transformed into new trendy clothes inspired by the 90s. The Vintage Rework clothing is unique and contributes to the environment through sustainable practices. We are very proud of this section which complements Girl Crush's values very well.


3. ETHICAL PRODUCTION

For us, each person who puts their little grain of salt in the creation of a Girl Crush product is a member of our family who deserves to be celebrated and respected. Therefore, we only work with factories that exceed the highest national standards in terms of working conditions. The following Girl Crush items are produced here in Montreal:

- Toques

- Scrunchies

- Jewelry

- Vintage Reworked

Most of the people we work with here in Montreal are hired on a contract basis, which means they are their own bosses and are in charge of determining how much they want to be paid and their work schedules. Finally, since Asia is the world leader in terms of eco-responsible materials, all of our items made from recycled or organic materials are produced there.


4. LOCAL JOB CREATION

At Girl Crush, it is important for us to encourage local artists who are as passionate as we are. From our seamstresses, fashion designers, videographers, photographers, illustrator and more! We always give creative control to the artists we work with and the seamstresses in charge of our Vintage Reworked range.

You can find out more about the Girl Crush team in the Team section.


5. SUPPORTING A SOCIAL CAUSE AND/OR ORGANIZATION

By working with associations, foundations or organizations, brands link business activity to support social or environmental causes. At Girl Crush, we are constantly looking for causes that we can contribute to in our own way.

That's why in 2020, we partnered with Le Chaînon. For every hoodie sold, 2$ goes to this organization that helps women in difficulty and those living with domestic violence. These donations are used to improve the infrastructure of Le Chaînon, which allows them to welcome more women in need of support under their roof. You also have the option of making a voluntary contribution to this organization.

It is also very important for us to contribute to the Black Lives Matter movement every day. By making donations, by working together with BIPOCs (Black, Indigenous and People of Color) within the company and not just in the spotlight. We encourage you to sign petitions and make donations right here: https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/

contact@girlcrushgang.com

FOR ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION OR FOR RECOMMENDATIONS, PLEASE WRITE TO US.

POUR UNE MODE PLUS DURABLE

Parce qu'il est possible de porter des vêtements tendances tout en ayant un impact positif sur la société.

GIRL CRUSH PRÉSENTE

PRATIQUES DURABLES ET CAUSES SOCIALES

Chez Girl Crush, nous concevons des vêtements tendances tout en accordant une grande importance à notre empreinte écologique et ce, du début du processus de fabrication jusqu’à la réception du colis.

Voici quelques objectifs écoresponsables que nous nous sommes fixés:

OBJECTIF #1 : EMBALLAGE MINIMAL

Favoriser l’emballage minimal en éliminant le plastique vierge de notre chaîne d’approvisionnement. Ainsi, nous utilisons des sacs faits de matières biodégradables, minimisons nos excédents d’emballage lors des expéditions et créons des étiquettes faites de matières recyclées sur nos vêtements. Pour nous, il ne serait tout simplement pas cohérent de créer des produits faits de matières écoresponsables sans que l'entièreté du processus reflète ces valeurs.

OBJECTIF #2 : MÉTHODE D'IMPRESSION ÉCOLOGIQUE

Utiliser une méthode d'impression écologique comme la technique de sublimation thermique pour transférer nos illustrations sur nos tissus. Telles que vu sur nos tote bags ou nos t-shirts 100% faits de matières recyclées, les illustrations créées à Montréal ont été sublimées de manière thermique afin d’être imprimées sur nos produits. La sublimation est la méthode d’impression de vêtement la plus écologique et durable qui existe dans l’industrie. Pourquoi? Puisqu’elle ne génère aucun déchet et qu’aucune eau n’est utilisée ou contaminée au cours du procédé. Autant pour les travailleurs que l’environnement, cette méthode est sans danger.

OBJECTIF #3 : PRODUCTION VESTIMENTAIRE LENTE

Contribuer à l’industrie de la mode rapide (couramment appelée “fast fashion”), c’est contribuer aux milliards de livres de vêtements qui finissent dans les sites d’enfouissement chaque année. Ces tissus émettent non seulement des gaz, mais contiennent aussi des produits chimiques qui contaminent nos sols. Girl Crush produit ses collections en fonction de la demande: deux à quatre collections par an ainsi que quelques créations exclusives et occasionnelles (alors que les entreprises de fast fashion en produisent entre 12 et 36). Pour nous, il est extrêmement important de miser sur la qualité. C’est pourquoi chaque vêtement et accessoire est fabriqué avec soin et avec une attention du détail particulière. Il va de soi: plus un produit possède une qualité supérieure, plus il sera porté et restera loin des sites d’enfouissement.

OBJECTIF #4 : TISSUS FAITS DE MATIÈRES RECYCLÉES

Girl Crush s’est promis de privilégier les tissus créés à partir de matières recyclées et/ou organiques pour ses vêtements. En effet, nous restons à l’affût des technologies les plus avancées et des méthodes novatrices pour réduire notre empreinte carbone. Ainsi, créer des tissus ayant ces propriétés était de mise pour économiser de l’énergie et réduire les émissions de gaz. Lisez attentivement notre section “textile” afin de connaître toutes les étapes de création, passant des bouteilles de plastique recueillies et lavées à la conception de tissu écologiquement durable.


1. MATIÈRES BIOLOGIQUES

Quand on parle de matières biologiques, on parle de matières qui sont conçues dans le respect de l’environnement. Par exemple, tous les morceaux du Summer Collection de Girl Crush sont faits à partir de coton biologique. 

Selon le rapport de Textile Exchange, au travers son processus d'agriculture, le coton biologique consomme 11 fois moins d'eau que le coton conventionnel. De plus, aucun pesticide n'est utilisé afin de le cultiver, ce qui rend cette matière non toxique, non cancérigène et non polluante. En portant des vêtements faits de coton biologique, vous faites un cadeau à l’environnement mais aussi à votre santé.

D’ailleurs, l’agriculture biologique est basée sur une approche durable. Ainsi, le système ne dépend pas de ressources non renouvelables, tels que les engrais synthétiques et les pesticides.

Le coton biologique coûte cependant 30% plus cher que le coton conventionnel, car les processus impliqués exigent plus de travail et donc de temps aussi. C’est pourquoi cela a pris plusieurs mois pour créer les matchings sets, car il nous a fallu créer des tissus aux teintes semblables (par exemple, la cropped cami n’a pas le même tissu que les comfy shorts mais possède la même couleur).


2. MATIÈRES RECYCLÉES 

Chez Girl Crush, notre objectif est de constamment innover et s'améliorer en élargissant graduellement notre gamme de produits 100% faits de matières recyclées. Jusqu'à présent, cette gamme comporte les items suivants:

- T-Shirts 100% recyclés

- Tote Bags 100% recyclés

- Bas 100% recyclés

- Vintage Reworked

- Notre collection de Recycled Fleece (coming soon)

Le développement de tels produits est beaucoup plus long et complexe puisqu'il s'agit d'une toute nouvelle technologie qui est en pleine évolution. Nous créons nos propres tissus qui sont entièrement faits de matières recyclées. Tout d'abord, des bouteilles de plastique recyclées sont déchiquetées en flocons de plastique puis fondues en copeaux afin d'ultimement être transformées en fibre de polyester recyclée.  Ensuite, en fonction du produit, d'autres matières recyclées peuvent aussi être utilisée afin d'obtenir le matériel idéal. Dans le cas de nos T-Shirts par exemple, des vieux t-shirts de coton sont déchiquetés puis transformés en fibre de coton recyclée afin de finalement créé notre matière actuelle, qui est un mix de 50%  coton recyclé et de 50% polyester recyclé.

D’ailleurs, certains de nos produits sont faits de vêtements recyclés. Il s’agit de notre section Vintage Rework. Ces vêtements, trouvés en friperie ou magasin vintage sont mis à la disposition de nos couturières, puis transformés pour former de nouveaux vêtements tendances inspirés des années 90. Les vêtements de la gamme Vintage Rework sont uniques et contribuent à l’environnement par une pratique durable. Nous sommes très fières de cette section qui complète très bien les valeurs de Girl Crush.


3. PRODUCTION ÉTHIQUE

Pour nous, chaque personne mettant son petit grain de sel à la création d'un produit Girl Crush est un membre de notre famille qui mérite d'être célébré et respecté. Ainsi, nous travaillons exclusivement avec des usines excédant les plus hautes normes nationales en terme de respect des conditions de travail. La production des items Girl Crush suivants se fait ici, à Montréal:

- Tuques

- Scrunchies

- Bijoux

- Vintage Reworked

La majorité des gens avec qui nous travaillons ici à Montréal sont engagés de manière contractuelle, ce qui signifie qu'ils sont leurs propres patrons et qu'ils sont en charge de déterminer combien ils veulent être payés ainsi que leurs horaires de travail. Finalement, l'Asie étant le leader mondial en terme de matériaux éco-responsables, tous nos items faits de matières recyclées ou de matières biologiques y sont produits. 


4. CRÉATION D'EMPLOIS LOCAUX

Chez Girl Crush, c’est important pour nous d’encourager des artistes locaux qui sont aussi passionnés que nous. Passant par nos couturières, fashion designers, vidéastes, photographes, illustratrice et plus encore! Nous donnons toujours le contrôle créatif aux artistes avec lesquelles nous travaillons ainsi qu'aux couturières en charge de notre gamme de Vintage Reworked. 

Vous pouvez trouver davantage d’informations sur l’équipe de Girl Crush dans la section Équipe.


5. SOUTIEN D'UNE CAUSE SOCIALE ET/OU D'UN ORGANISME 

En travaillant avec des associations, des fondations ou organismes, les marques lient l’activité commerciale au soutien de causes sociales ou environnementales. Chez Girl Crush, nous sommes constamment à la recherche de causes auxquelles nous pourrions contribuer à notre manière.

C'est pour cette raison qu'en 2020, nous nous sommes associées à l'organisme Le Chaînon. Pour chaque hoodie vendu, 2$ va à à cet organisme venant en aide aux femmes en difficulté ainsi que celles vivant de la violence conjugale. Ces dons sont utilisés entre autres afin d'améliorer les infrastructures du Chaînon, ce qui leur permet d'accueillir sous leur toit encore plus de femmes ayant besoin de soutient. Vous avez aussi maintenant l'option de faire une contribution volontaire à cet organisme.

Il est aussi très important pour nous de contribuer au mouvement du Black Lives Matter tous les jours. En faisant des donations, en travaillant de paire avec des BIPOCs (Black, Indegineous and People of Color) au sein de l’entreprise et non seulement en avant-scène. Nous vous encourageons à signer des pétitions et faire des dons juste ici: https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/

contact@girlcrushgang.com

POUR TOUTES INFORMATIONS SUPPLÉMENTAIRES OU POUR DES RECOMMANDATIONS, VEUILLEZ NOUS ÉCRIRE.